Thornhill Ward 1 All Candidates Meeting on Thursday, September 18, 2014 at 7:30 pm. Henderson Avenue Public School, 66 Henderson Avenue, Thornhill

The Markham Thornhill Ward 1 All Candidates Meeting for the October 27, 2014 Markham municipal election for local councillor, regional councillors, mayoral and school board trustee candidates will be held on:


Thursday, September 18, 2014

7:30 pm to 9:30 pm

At Henderson Avenue Public School

66 Henderson Avenue, Thornhill

(south of Doncaster)


Reminder: For this and future municipal elections, there is only one Thornhill ward, due to the amalgamation of the two existing Thornhill wards. This will likely be the only locally held All Candidates Meeting.


Parking: Small amount onsite and street parking. Please carpool if possible.


Organizers are expecting a full house so please come early to get a good seat. The venue will be open from 6:45 pm.


Co-sponsored by the following Residents Associations: Ward One South Thornhill, Inc., Grandview Area RA, Bayview Glen RA, German Mills RA and Settlers Park RA.


Final List of Candidates, 2014   (We suggest you print out the following list, and bring it with you to make notes at the All Candidates Meetings)


Candidates for Mayor (choose one only)


Patrick Cottrell

Partap Duo

Stephen Kotyck

Frank Scarpitti

James Treacy


Candidates for Ward 1 Councillor (choose one only)


Valerie Burke

Howard Shore


Candidates for Regional Councillor (choose up to four (4 ) only)


Nirmala Armstrong

Bin Chang

Charles Deacon

Jack Heath

Surinder Issar

Jim Jones

Ivy Lee

Joe Li

Tammy Mok

Peter Pavlovic

Nadeem Qureshi

Sophia Ming Sun


Candidates for School Board Trustee (choose one trustee candidate from whichever school board you support with your property taxes)


YRDSB (Public School Board)


Mark Bloch

Alisa Boukine

Susan Geller

Cindy Hackelberg

Rohit Malik

Steven Mayers

Deven Sandhu

Simon Strelchik

Anastasia Tsouroupakis


YCDSB (Catholic School Board)


Carol Cotton


Conseil Scolaire Viamonde (French Public School Board)


Francois Guerin

Rene Laurin


Conseil Scolaire de District Catholique Centre-Sud (French Catholic School Board)


Armanious Sawsan

Kathleen Beal

Caroline Bourret


Not all of the candidates have their websites running, yet, but you can find those that are here.


Share Button